Beginning on May 6, 2019, the group management settings for Google Groups will change. To make groups simpler to manage, Google is combining settings that have similar functions, and is removing some rarely used settings.
The changes will start to roll out on May 6 and may take up to 15 days to reach all groups. Please be aware that your group may see the changes at any time during that 15-day period.
- Member management settings—Settings for adding, approving, and inviting users to groups are being merged into a single setting.
- Content moderator settings—Settings for approving posts, deleting posts, and locking topics are being merged into a single setting.
- Content metadata settings—Settings for adding and changing tags and other metadata are being merged into a single setting.
- Rarely used settings—Some rarely used settings are going away.
How the changes will affect you
The settings changes affect all existing groups and any new groups you create.
In addition, if you’re not an Owner or Manager for your group, but have access to one or more settings for member management, content moderator management, or content metadata management, you may lose access to some or all of those settings.
What to do before the changes
Group Owners should verify that anyone who manages members or content has the right permissions:
- For users who manage members—Owners should make sure that anyone in their group who needs to manage members has permission to manage all the membership settings being combined. The member moderator setting will be turned off for users who don't have permission to manage all the settings.
- For users who moderate content—Owners should make sure that anyone in their group who needs to moderate content has permission to manage all the content settings being combined. The content moderator setting will be turned off for users who don't have permission to manage all the settings.
- For users who manage content metadata—Owners should make sure that anyone in their group who needs to manage content metadata has permission to manage at least one of the metadata settings being combined.
Check out Google’s Help Center page for detailed information about the Google Groups changes. You can also contact the Service Center by going to help.georgetown.edu.