Google Drive File Stream

Google Drive File Stream is an application that enables you to access your files and folders in Google Drive from your computer. As of May 12, 2018, Drive File Stream replaces the previous Google Drive desktop application. If you currently use your desktop computer to access Google Drive, you'll need to install Drive File Stream. This affects you only if you access Google Drive via folders on your desktop.

Features

Drive File Stream allows you to:

  • Access your files through a folder on your computer;
  • Organize your files without downloading them (access them "on demand");
  • Open files in common applications like Microsoft Office; and
  • Make files available offline (the cached files will sync back to the cloud when you are online).

When you install Drive File Stream, you'll see folders called My Drive and Team Drives in your Finder or Windows Explorer. You'll also see "Google Drive " on the left hand side of Finder or Explorer.

System Requirements

Installing Drive File Stream

Important Information About Your Old Google Drive Folder

After May 12th, the Google Drive folder on your computer you used up to now in the old Google Drive desktop application to access or edit your files in Google Drive will still remain on your computer. After May 12th, however, the old Google Drive application will also stop syncing the Google Drive folders on your computer to Google Drive. Therefore, we strongly recommend that you delete these folders before May 12th. (After May 12th, the old (legacy) Google Drive desktop application will stop syncing the Google Drive folder on your computer to Google Drive, so any changes you make to your files from the old folder will not be saved.) Please note that deleting the old Google Drive folder will not delete your files (they're still available in Google Drive).

If you try to access or edit your Google Drive files from your old Google Drive folder (located in “C:\Users\%USER%\Google Drive” for Windows computers, and “/Users/$USER/Google Drive” for Mac computers), you'll see the following message: 

Message that old Google Drive application is no longer syncing

If you haven't removed your old Google Drive folder by May 12th, the folder will be renamed automatically. If you try to open this folder, you'll see the following message:

message that your old Google Drive folder has been renamed